The 2016 Authors Lectures

Grass Roots Books and Music
227 SW 2nd St., Corvallis
Reception and book signing to follow

2015 OSU Book Authors & Editors Booklet


Harrison Book Cover

Wayne Harrison

Wayne Harrison

6 p.m. Wednesday, April 6

The Spark and the Drive

Wayne Harrison’s short stories have appeared in “Best American Short Stories 2010,” The Atlantic, Narrative Magazine and on NPR’s “All Things Considered.”  He is the recipient of a Maytag fellowship, an Oregon Literary fellowship and a Fishtrap writing fellowship. His short story collection "Wrench" was a finalist for the Serena McDonald Kennedy Award, the Spokane Prize and the Iowa Short Fiction Award.  "The Spark and the Drive" is his debut novel.


A Long High Whistle, Biespiel Book Cover

David Biespiel

David Biespiel

6 p.m. Tuesday, April 12

A Long High Whistle

David Biespiel has published 10 books of poetry and prose. "The Book of Men and Women" was named Best Poetry of the Year for 2009 by the Poetry Foundation and also won an Oregon Book Award. Biespiel published monthly essays on poetry for the Oregonian for 10 years, which was the longest-running newspaper column on poetry in the country. "A Long High Whistle" is a collection of essays.

2015 OSU Authors and Editors Submission

Each year OSU Faculty publish a remarkable range of literary contributions.  Publication of these books is an important dimension to faculty creativity that goes through a rigorous peer review process and is an important part of validating their work.  OSU authors will be honored during two authors lectures in April, at which time, all OSU authors will be acknowledged and information regarding their literary work will be available for guests. More details regarding the Author Lectures will be forthcoming.

Help us to recognize our OSU Authors and Editors by sending the following information to by March 15, 2016 for inclusion in our publicity materials. Guidelines for submissions are as follows:

  • Faculty members must be the principal author – chapter authors do not qualify.  Editors of collections/volumes of original scholarship.
  • Do not include pamphlets, brochures, limited distribution research monographs, workbooks, or manuals
  • All submission must have 2015 copyright date.
  • Please include a color copy of the book cover and headshot of the author.  This will be included in a booklet made available at the two upcoming authors recognition events: April 6 and April 12 at Grassroots Bookstore.  In addition, the booklet will be made available for viewing on the Provost’s website.
  • Submission deadline: March 15, 2016.