Dear Oregon State University community,
As you may be aware, a new Presidential Executive Order was signed Monday affecting the immigration and travel of foreign nationals from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.
This executive order takes effect March 16, 2017, and repeals and replaces Executive Order 13769, signed on January 27, 2017. The new executive order temporarily suspends travel to the United States by foreign nationals from Sudan, Syria, Iran, Libya, Somalia, and Yemen for 90 days from March 16 to June 14, 2017.
Excluded from the provisions of the new executive order are:
  • Lawful permanent residents of the U.S. (foreign nationals with green cards);
  • Foreign nationals from the listed countries who have a valid visa as of March 16, 2017;
  • Foreign nationals from the listed countries who had a valid visa as of January 27, 2017;
  • Dual nationals traveling on a passport issued by a non-listed country; and
  • Foreign nationals from Iraq.
This means that these persons should be able to enter the United States. The new executive order also provides additional information on these exceptions, the case-by-case waiver process, and the refugee admissions program. 
At this time, we reiterate that the values of Oregon State University previously articulated by President Ray remain unchanged: every Oregon State University student and employee in our community is valued.
Over the coming days, Oregon State University’s Division of International Programs will be working to update information on immigration and foreign travel including OSU’s  Frequently Asked Questions related to immigration that were prepared to address the previous executive order. 
The U.S. administration has provided the following guidance on the new executive order:
If you need assistance regarding international travel considerations, please contact the Office of International Services in the Division of International Programs by calling (541) 737-6310. Additionally, all travelers planning international travel should visit the U.S. State Department website prior to departure.
Mark Hoffman, Ph.D.
Vice Provost                                                                        
Division of International Programs
Grace Atebe, Ed.D.
Director, Office of International Services
Division of International Programs