Nomination Form for the University Mentoring & Professional Development Award

This award recognizes any classified, professional faculty, or faculty member who excels in mentoring, supporting, and encouraging OSU employees, especially women and those from under-represented groups or non-traditional careers, and making available to them opportunities for professional, educational and personal development.

The sponsors of this award believe that mentoring and development are critical to excellent performance and employee satisfaction. The award offers a way of commending individuals who support the learning environment for OSU employees.

The recipient of this award should have a record of

  • providing development opportunities to OSU faculty and staff
  • mentoring and encouraging members of the faculty and staff at the beginning as well as throughout their careers
  • encouraging individuals not traditionally supported in their pursuit of professional or personal development
  • making contributions that lead to increased performance and job satisfaction.
  • improving campus climate with respect to mentoring and professional development opportunities.

The award is presented at University Day and consists of a check for personal use from the Office of the President for $500; a development fund of $500 contributed by PCOSW to support any of the recipient’s activities related to mentoring and professional development; a nameplate for the perpetual University Professional Development Award plaque in Kerr Admin; and a personal plaque.

The nominator and nominee need not be from the same OSU department. The mentoring and Professional Development Award Subcommittee reserves the right to solicit clarification of information when necessary. Members of the Subcommittee are ineligible to be nominated. Past recipients of the award are also ineligible for nomination until three years after receipt of the award.

The 2020 nominations are due May 1. Click to access the Nomination Form

University Mentoring and Professional Development Award Previous Recipients

2019    David Hendrix
2018    Charlene Martinez
2017    No Recipient
2016    Rebecca Warner
2015    Staci Simonich
2014    Melissa Cheyney
2013    Susan Shaw
2012    Adry Clark
2011    No recipient
2010    Moira Dempsey
2009    Janet Webster
2008    Melody Johnson
2007    Kim McAlexander
2006    Mark Dinsmore
2005    No recipient
2004    Lorraine M. Borchers
2003    No recipient
2002    Marion McNamara
2001    Laurel Busse
2000    No recipient
1999    Debra Jimmerson
1998    Pam Henderson
1997    Ann Schauber
1996    Sandra Lewis
1995    Sandie Franklin
1994    Jim Miller
1993    Jennalee Santos
1992    Anne S. Lawrence