Distinguished Professor Edward Brook
Public lecture May 10th from 1:00 to 230 PM
Memorial Union room 109

Dr. Edward Brook, who arrived at Oregon State in 2004, is one of the most recognized and highly regarded ancient climate scientists in the world.

He is internationally known for the development of geochemical measurement techniques, and the insights they convey about the Earth’s past. During his time in the College of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences, he created the Oregon State ice core laboratory, which has unique capabilities to measure greenhouse and other gases in small samples of air trapped in polar ice.

He has received more than $15 million in grant funding, primarily from the National Science Foundation. He has published more than 120 peer reviewed journal articles, with 30 contributions in high profile journals such as Science, Nature and the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. He has also been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union.

Graduate students in OSU’s College of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences awarded Professor Brook with the college’s Jack Dymond Excellence in Mentoring Award in 2013.

Distinguished Professor Joey Spatafora
Public lecture May 10th from 9:30 to 1100 AM
Memorial Union room 109

Dr. Joey Spatafora, a professor in the Department of Botany and Plant Pathology, arrived at Oregon State in 1995.

Since then, he has developed a world-class research program focused on molecular systematics and population genetics of fungi. He was among the first to use DNA sequencing to organize the several hundred thousand known species of fungi into taxonomic categories of genus, family, and order.

His research has been supported by many research grants, including a National Science Foundation grant, “Assembling the Tree of Life: Resolving the evolutionary history of fungi.”

Since beginning at Oregon State, he has also curated the mycological (fungal) collection in the university’s Botany Herbarium. The collection contains nearly 100,000 specimens, and he has kept the collection organized and available to other researchers.

Professor Spatafora’s teaching has earned him three teaching awards: the OSU Faculty Teaching Excellence Award, the Outstanding University Honors College Professor award, and the Fred Horne Award for Excellence in Teaching Science.

Distinguished Professor Janet Tate
Public lecture May 11th from 9:30 to 11:00 AM
Ch2M Hill Alumni Center, Willamette room

Dr. Janet Tate is a professor of physics and the Dr. Russ and Dolores Gorman Faculty Scholar.

Her research, in collaboration with materials scientists at Oregon State, is focused on creating new semiconductors with transparent circuits that have electrical and optical properties that help to solve problems such as efficient conversion of solar energy and efficient light emission.

Her research stimulated the Oregon State invention of the transparent oxide transistor, the enabling technology for the Retina 5K display now found in many Apple products.

Her work has been supported in part by more than $7 million in research grants.

She is also an active mentor. One of the most important components of the undergraduate physics degree at Oregon State is the research thesis, which is required of all students. She has supervised 37 senior thesis projects and sponsored seven additional summer undergraduate research projects in her lab. At the graduate level, she has mentored 14 Ph.D. students and six master’s students, all to completion.

Professor Tate’s contributions in the classroom earned her the Frederick H. Horne Award for Sustained Excellence in Teaching Science in 2002 and two OSU Mortar Board top professor awards.