To: OSU Community

From: Edward Feser, Provost and Executive Vice President

December 9, 2019

Dear Oregon State colleagues:

It is my pleasure to announce the appointment of Dr. Tom DeLuca as Oregon State University’s Cheryl Ramberg Ford and Allyn C. Ford Dean of the College of Forestry and director of the Oregon Forest Research Laboratory effective June 30, 2020.

Dr. DeLuca currently serves as dean of the W.A. Franke College of Forestry and Conservation at the University of Montana. A forest soil scientist and ecosystem ecologist, Dr. DeLuca’s efforts in research, teaching and administration have been focused on sustainable land management and advancing the understanding of natural ecosystem function. Dr. DeLuca is responsible for the management of two external research facilities, Lubrecht Experimental Forest (a 28,000-acre forest) and Bandy Ranch (a 3,600-acre cattle ranch). Prior to his current post, he served as the Director of the School of Environmental and Forest Sciences at the University of Washington. He has also held positions at Bangor University in the UK, the Wilderness Society, and Slippery Rock University.

During the past 20 years, Dr. DeLuca has conducted research on a variety of topics across temperate, boreal, maritime, and Arctic settings. A highly cited scholar, he has published more than 100 refereed research papers, including in Science and Nature. Dr. DeLuca received his Ph.D. in soil biology and biochemistry from Iowa State University; his master’s degree in soils from Montana State University; and his bachelor’s degree in soil science from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Interim Dean Anthony Davis will return to his role as executive associate dean in the College on June 30. As you are aware, Dr. Davis first served as acting dean and later as interim dean, leading the college during a time of significant change. His service and accomplishments in this role are greatly appreciated.

Please join me in welcoming Dr. DeLuca to Oregon State and thanking Dr. Davis for his outstanding service as interim dean.

Edward Feser
Provost and Executive Vice President