Situated in the heart of the Corvallis campus, the Collaborative Innovation Complex will host OSU’s most advanced research infrastructure, with a goal of supporting team-based interdisciplinary research and education.


Ideation Sessions

The Ideation Sessions were sparked by the conversations around the research that may be enabled by the infrastructure and space in the Collaborative Innovation Complex, and further fueled by work in the Research Office to stand up programs that help faculty increase the impact of their research.

Ideation Sessions Program - April 15 & 18, 2022 

University Forum - April 7, 2022

Leadership shares progress on siting the Collaborative Innovation Complex and imagining the research infrastructure it will house.

A State of the Art Multidisciplinary Research Facility

The CIC is envisioned as 150,000 square feet of space that will host OSU’s most advanced research infrastructure, with a goal of supporting team-based interdisciplinary research and education in climate and marine science, engineering, artificial intelligence and computation, materials science and health science.

A Commitment to Inclusive Building Design 

The goal is to create a welcoming, accessible place that facilitates equity, showcases OSU strengths, creates ready opportunities for cross-connection and collaboration that are inclusive across identities and abilities, and engages with the surrounding community.

A Comprehensive Summary

Learn more about Oregon State University's Collaborative Innovation Complex here



LATE 2025
EARLY 2026

Schematic design process

Design development stage

Schematic design reviewed by Board of Trustees Design development reviewed by Board of Trustees

Construction documents, bidding and permitting phase

CIC phase construction begins Weniger Hall demolished

Executive Committee

The executive committee, Chaired by Provost Ed Feser, will provide oversight for the development of the Collaborative Innovation Complex, including program and concept development, design, and budget.

  • Edward Feser – Provost and Executive Vice President – Chair
  • Scott Ashford – Dean, College of Engineering
  • John Gremmels – Capital Planner
  • Roy Haggerty – Dean, College of Science
  • Tuba Özkan-Haller – Acting Dean, College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Libby Ramirez – University Architect and Director, Capital Resources
  • Irem Tumer – Vice President, Research

Communication Archive

Steering Committee

The steering committee—co-chaired by Erica Fleishman and Brady Gibbons—will work with ZGF Architects to engage the OSU community and further develop initial concepts for the facility program and design.Together, ZGF and the steering committee will provide those recommendations to a project executive committee, which will approve the final program and concept.

While every committee member’s area of expertise will add value to the overall project, each has been asked to keep their role as a university citizen firmly in mind, with a focus on helping OSU program and design a facility that will serve to elevate high impact research across many disciplines and units for a long time to come.

  • Erica Fleishman – Director, Oregon Climate Change Research Institute – Co-chair
  • Brady Gibbons – Professor, Materials Science; Associate Dean for Research – Co-chair
  • Hilary Boudet – Associate Professor, School of Public Policy
  • Rafaelle de Amicis – Associate Professor of Computer Science
  • Alan Fern – Professor, Computer Science
  • Lisa Ganio – Head, Department of Statistics
  • Geoff Hollinger – Associate Professor, Robotics & Autonomous Systems
  • Kameron Kadooka – Interim Dir, Equity, Access & Inclusion, College of Science
  • Wei Kong – Head, Department of Chemistry
  • Anthony Koppers – Associate Dean for Research; Senior Advisor to the Vice President for Research
  • Davide Lazzati – Head, Department of Physics
  • Jonathan Nash – Professor, College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences
  • May Nyman – Professor, Chemistry
  • Oksana Ostroverkhova – Professor, Physics
  • Bryson Robertson – Assoc Professor of Coastal & Ocean Engineering; Co-Director PMEC
  • Peter Ruggiero – Prof, CEOAS; Dir & PI of The Cascadia Coastlines & Peoples Hazards Research Hub
  • Andrew Thurber – Associate Professor, CEOAS and College of Science
  • Meagan Wengrove – Assistant Professor, Coastal and Ocean Engineering
  • Dorthe Wildenschild – Professor, Environmental Engineering