Monday, May 24, 2021

To: OSU Community Members

From: Becky Johnson, Interim President
           Edward Feser, Provost and Executive Vice President

May 24, 2021

Dear OSU Community Members,

We are very pleased to share that Oregon State University will host a celebratory processional for our 2020 and 2021 Corvallis graduates on Friday, June 11, the day before the formal virtual 2021 Commencement ceremony.

This opportunity to celebrate in person is now possible because Benton County moved to low COVID-19 risk. Many graduates asked to be able to celebrate this major life accomplishment in person as well. This plan supports those requests.

We continue to monitor Deschutes County’s risk status and will keep the OSU-Cascades community informed of any changes in graduation plans.

The Corvallis event will take place from 12:30 to 3 p.m. and will include an informal processional, departing from the Memorial Union or Valley Library quads to arrive at Reser Stadium. DJs in each quad will play music, and Benny Beaver will be part of the processional as well. After arriving at the stadium, graduates will be seated for very brief remarks involving both of us and the college deans. Face masks will be required.

To contribute to public wellness, this event will be for graduates only. Because family and friends will be unable to attend, graduates will be given an opportunity to take their photo at booths set up in Reser Stadium. Additionally, a photo station will be set up in the MU during the week of June 7  Monday through Thursday  for graduates to take selfies.

Eligible graduates from 2020 and 2021 will receive an email this week with a link to RSVP to this celebratory processional.

OSU faculty and staff, who also will be required to wear masks, are invited to participate as processional and stadium marshals for the June 11 event. If interested, please contact JoAnne Bunnage.

Thanks to each of you for your flexibility, resilience and enthusiasm as we prepare to celebrate with our 2020 and 2021 graduates.

Warm regards,

Becky Johnson
Interim President

Edward Feser
Provost and Executive Vice President