The President’s Commission on the Status of Women (PCOSW), the Office of Institutional Diversity (OID), the Office of the Provost and OSU Athletics are pleased to present Breaking Barriers: A Celebration of the Accomplishments and Impact of Individuals who have Worked to Advance Gender Equity at OSU. This event recognizes and celebrates the influential contributions these individuals have made to our community. 

Breaking Barriers Awards are open to anyone in the OSU community who has worked to advance  gender equity in alignment with each of the award categories.  We accept nominations of faculty, staff, students and community members.  Nominators may submit multiple nominations but must submit a separate form for each nomination.

Nominations for the 2020 awards closed Friday, May 15. Awardees will be announced in summer 2020 and honored at the annual Breaking Barriers Celebration, which will be scheduled for summer or fall 2020.

Award Categories

Breaking Barriers in Education 

This award recognizes a member of the OSU community whose high impact in teaching and mentoring has paved the way to advance gender equity in higher education and allows all to thrive and prosper. 

Breaking Barriers in Research

This award honors a member of the OSU community whose innovative research challenges and expands knowledge and/or advances gender equity.

Breaking Barriers in Athletics

This award recognizes a member of the OSU athletic community whose contributions actively create and encourage gender equity in sports.

The PCOSW Community Builder

This award honors an individual or group in the OSU community whose work contributes significantly to the campus environment through advocacy of gender equity. ​​​

The Harriet “Hattie” Redmond Award 

This award celebrates a member of the OSU community who works as an agent of change in service of racial justice and gender equity.