A Legacy of Transformation

2003: Ed Ray is named OSU’s 14th president since the university’s founding in 1868. Enrollment totals 18,974 students, and Oregon State begins preparing its first modern-day strategic plan.

2004: Strategic Plan 1.0

2007: The Campaign for OSU, the university's first-ever capital campaign, launches with a goal to raise $625 million. New research grants and contracts total $185 million.

2013: The National Science Foundation selects Oregon State to lead the design of as many as three new academic research vessels. In 2017, the NSF awards OSU $121.88 million to launch construction of the first vessel, to be based at Oregon State’s Hatfield Marine Science Center.

2014: Strategic Plan 3.0

2009: Strategic Plan 2.0

2014: The Campaign for OSU concludes, raising $1.14 billion that helped construct or renovate 28 buildings; endow 79 faculty positions; provide $189 million for scholarships and fellowships; and increase support for Oregon State's teaching and research initiatives. Construction projects included new homes for four of OSU's nine cultural resource centers.

2016: President Ray launches the Student Success Initiative, which by 2020 commits the university to raise first-year retention rates and six-year graduation rates for all students. The OSU Foundation commits to raise $150 million to support the initiative. OSU-Cascades opens its new campus in Bend, with capacity to serve 3,000 to 5,000 students in Central Oregon.

2017: OSU150 launches a 15-month, statewide celebration of the university's 150th anniversary, its unique mission and ongoing impact.

2018: In fiscal years 2016-18, Oregon State faculty attract $1.13 billion in external research funding — marking the three highest years in the university’s history. OSU programs in forestry, oceanography, agricultural sciences, robotics and online degrees earn top-tier rankings.

2019: Oregon State launches Strategic Plan 4.0 to guide the university over the next five years. Enrollment stands at a record 32,011, making OSU the largest university in the state for the fifth year in a row.