Goal of the Faculty-Student Interactions Subcommittee

The USSI-SC Faculty-Student Interactions Subcommittee will support the USSI-SC’s work to advance OSU’s undergraduate student success goals by developing and overseeing the implementation of a comprehensive university-wide plan to significantly expand faculty-student connections outside of class and outside of experiential learning to address student needs and establish an appropriate disciplinary framework, focusing on the first two years a student is at OSU. The subcommittee reports to the USSI-SC, which reports periodically to the Provost on student success.

Subcommittee Membership:

Faculty – Student Interactions Subcommittee (co-chaired by Rebecca Mathern and Penny Diebel)

Core Team Members:
Sharyn Clough, Philosophy Professor, School of History, Philosophy, and Religion, College of Liberal Arts
Mark Lavery, Senior Instructor II, Department of Integrative Biology, College of Science
Kelly McElroy, Student Engagement and Community Outreach Librarian, Valley Library
Harriet Nembhard, School Head, Mechanical, Industrial, and Manufacturing Engineering, College of Engineering
Ryan Reese, Assistant Professor, Counseling Academic Unit, College of Education, OSU Cascades
Inara Scott, Assistant Dean for Teaching and Learning Excellence, College of Business
Scott Vignos, Assistant Vice President, Strategic Diversity Initiatives, Office of Institutional Diversity

Extended Team Members:
Clare Creighton, Director, Academic Success Center
Katherine McAlvage, Assistant Director of Course Development and Training, Ecampus
Natalie Nakic, Assistant Athletic Director/Head Academic Counselor
Dorian  Smith, Coordinator of Black Student Access and Success, Educational Opportunities Program
Elena Sapp, Director, Academic Programs, INTO OSU